Variety @ Second Story Hideaway in Redmond, WA

Entertainment Review, Theatre Review, Variety Show Review

11121772_858926434181143_842388723793677665_n

Ok, let’s start this one off by saying I have never seen a variety show before.  I’ve also never seen a burlesque show, in the traditional sense.  Therefore, I have no basis for comparison as to how the Variety Show at Second Story Hideaway stacks up against its competitors.  However, we all know that I do know what I like, and dahlings, I loooooved this show!  And the main reason is summed up in two fabulous words:  Sparkle Leigh!!

10409198_386598768200474_5005535972894238037_nThis amazing Diva was the hostess with the absolute mostest and kicked off the night with a performance of her own before Emcee-ing the rest of the event.  She was hysterical, fabulous, witty, and super stylish!  Loved the hair, loved the boots, loved the outfits, loved it all!  And when the costume change happened at intermission, the fashion just got more fabulous!  And the timing!  Oh, Miss Leigh has comedic timing of the genius level! Her ability to hold the crowd’s attention, roll with whatever crazy thing the performers did, and single handedly elevated that show to the fabulous level that only she could do!  I will be looking forward to future events hosted by Sparkle Leigh, because I know even if every act is ridiculous, she will entertain me like no body’s business, dahlings!  Yaasssssss!

Now, the rest of the show was filled with varying acts of drag performers, boylesque performers, and even an opera diva!!!  All the drag performers were fantastic!  11108953_481749911977715_3666404095272185812_nRuby Bouche was stunning and hysterical in her performance.  Sparkle Leigh’s sister, Patient Leigh did a stunning rendition of Memories from Cats, I 10488240_1484026081838030_8977053885322947596_nmean, she is a song bird if ever there was one!  And Biore Bang rounded out the cast with an amazingly emotional performance! I was thoroughly impressed with every single friggin one of them!

The Opera Diva, Ms. 10366078_10152111499578461_1853597970888780156_nBecky Peterson was a surprise for me, never expecting to see legit opera in a variety show.  But, sweet lawd, Ms. Peterson killed it!  Now, I’m not a fan of the opera, you will never see reviews of it here, because frankly, I have no desire to listen to that style of music.  However….I really enjoyed the performance that Ms. Peterson gave!  Loved the song choice, loved the props, loved the acting that came through the song.  She was beautiful, and wonderful, and I am honored to have heard her sing!  I wish her all the luck in the world in the vocal competition she’s embarking on later this year!

Now, the main acts of the night were boylesque performers, some better than others.  These men performed to everything from 80s rock to classic show tunes that they sang live!  One danced with a blowup doll, and then later pulled glitter out of his teeeeeeeeeny tiny g-string!  Another tied up two audience members in an odd way, while the yet another started out as Fred Astaire and ended up looking like a stripped down Sampson!

But the highlight for me, performance wise, was Butch Alice as the screaming goat in the Taylor Swift Trouble/Screaming Goat mash-up!  OMG!!  It was friggin hysterical!  I wish I had a photo to show you, because it was so brilliant!

All in all, it was a very entertaining and fun way to spend a Friday evening!  I hope to see more shows at the Hideway soon!  And I will definitely be on the lookout for future performances of the Queens of the night, because they were all fabulous with a capital Fabulous!

Loved it!

Ciao for now,

M sm

One thought on “Variety @ Second Story Hideaway in Redmond, WA

Thoughts??

