The Maestro at Work: A Visit to Whim W’Him

Dance Show Promotional, Entertainment Review

It’s always a good day when I get an email from my favorite Seattle based Dance Company, Whim W’Him, inviting me to come watch a rehearsal.  But it’s a friggin fantastic day when the choreographer I get to watch create at said rehearsal is none other than the Maestro, himself, Olivier Wevers, Artistic Director of Whim W’Him, as he prepares for WWDC’s next show IN-spired.

I was giddy for days leading up to getting to go watch Mr. Wevers work, because of all the pieces I’ve seen WWDC perform, the ones that felt the most natural on these dancers were created at the hands of Mr. Wevers.  As it should be, I think, when an Artistic Director creates a company in his vision.  Little balls of clay, if you will, for him to mold and sculpt into phrase after delicious phrase.  So, off to the Francia Russell Ballet Center I went, to watch the Maestro create.

WWDCOW1

Olivier Wevers, Artistic Director, working with (L-R) Patrick Kilbane, Justin Reiter, and Tory Peil. 

And it was everything I’d hoped it would be and oh so very much more!  As I arrived, Mr. Wevers was on the floor, creating a phrase for Mia Monteabaro, and he moved like graceful lightening across the floor, twisting and contorting his body into interesting and complex shapes.  Ms. Monteabaro, dancing behind him, following along and imitating Mr. Wevers’ moves, barely a beat behind him, I swear, she was somehow reading his mind!  It was glorious!  I was such a big fan of Mr. Wevers during his career with the PNB, so watching him dance brought a bit of a tear to my eye and just set the tone for what was to be an absolutely wonderful day of dance.

So, for the next few fabulous hours, I sat and watched as Mr. Wevers continued to create. Cannoning his dancers on and off the stage, creating duets and trios twisting and turning around each other, designing lifts and splits which show off the strength and flexibility of the company had this dance lover’s mind spinning with glee!  And all to the delectable and delightful Brahms Violin Concerto in D Major, which seems to absolutely inspire Mr. Wevers, as every time he’d run the phrases with music, you could see his mind racing with new ideas and movement to try on his dancers.

 

WWDCOW3

Olivier Wevers, Artistic Director, standing in for Tory Peil, in between Justin Reiter and Patrick Kilbane as they create his piece.

 

And speaking of the dancers, these seven talented balls of clay, they are the perfect medium for Mr. Wevers’ art.  Changes to the company have happened since last I saw WWDC in September, and now there are five gorgeous men and two stunning women making up the company.  The addition of Patrick Kilbane (the legs and feet on this guy, I can’t even tell you!  #SquatGoals like you wouldn’t believe!) is a seamless change within this company as his power and strength fit right in with the talents of the six I’ve already come to know and adore!  Kyle Matthew Johnson, Thomas Phelan and Tory Peil dance one of my favorite phrases that I saw that day, partnering together so beautifully!  Ms. Monteabaro and Jim Kent also have a lovely duet section that was gracefully fluid and dynamic at the same time.  And Justin Reiter, the little chameleon that he is, flawlessly gliding between phrases whether mirroring or partnering, taking my breath away like he always does!  Getting to see these seven artists work together to bring Mr. Wevers vision to life was an experience I won’t soon forget.

The last rehearsal I saw back in September was more of a run-through of a completed piece.  But this time, I truly was immersed in their process to create, and damn, do they work hard!  As a former jazz dancer, I have no idea how contemporary dancers hear the music, because they flow along with it, rather than being held to downbeats and 8-counts.  The same goes for the Maestro.  He has sections of music, and shifts his creation with the changing of the concerto, but does not hold himself to the rhythm of Brahms, but rather creates a syncopated one that compliments and contradicts in a spectacular way, finding nuances within the music that I never would have heard, and it’s magical to watch.

WWDCOW2

L-R: Justin Reiter, Patrick Kilbane and Tory Peil

 

I can’t wait to see how the Maestro will finish his creation to this beautiful piece of music.  I’m so excited to see how the seven stunning balls of clay, each with their unique color and texture, come together to make a stunningly creative, deliciously complex, and fantastically entertaining sculpture, the likes of which only the Maestro can create.

Thank you to the Maestro (Olivier, I’m calling you that from now on, so get used to it!) and to Katie Bombico, Executive Director, for allowing me to tip toe into the Whim W’Him world for a few wonderful hours.  Watching true artists create art is the best way I can think to spend a day.  I will see you both at the show and wish you all a very enthusiastic and supportive Merde!!

Tickets and show info for IN-spired can be found on Whim W’Him’s website and Brown Paper Tickets.

Ciao for now,

cropped-unnamed-16.jpg

Photo Credit: Bamberg Fine Art

Thoughts??

