Hey Guys, Wanna See Some Raw Emotion?

Dance Show Promotional, Entertainment Review

I’ve been given the gift of getting to know the Whim W’Him Dance Company on an intimate level.  They have been gracious enough to invite me into their rehearsal space, and been brave enough to let me watch them create, explore and inspire, and every time I go, I am never quite ready for how profoundly they move me.

unnamed-27

Artistic Director, Olivier Wevers works with Tory Peil and Patrick Kilbane   

The rehearsal I saw was for Artistic Director, Olivier Wevers’new creation: A Disagreeable Tale of Duplicity.  People, the Maestro has outdone himself with this piece, and I was blown away by what I saw, because what he has created is 100% pure raw emotion.  It’s haunting and stunning at the same time, and that was before it was fully cleaned, fully developed, and fully ready for an audience.  I can’t even imagine how breathtaking and heartbreaking the final work will be, but I can’t wait to find out.

I don’t want to give away too much, but I really want to talk to you about the bravery of The Maestro and his dancers.  This piece feels very personal, as it takes on the theme of love, both found and lost, and the impact both can have on a person as they wander, both happily and torturously through the garden that love grows.  The Maestro has cut himself open with his choreography, and is bleeding all over the stage with complete artistic abandon.  His characters beautifully and fully developed, his story hauntingly clear, his genius alive and all encompassing…you do not want to miss this!

But a choreographer’s vision can only go so far if he or she does not have dancers willing to go there as well. And by there, I mean complete and utter vulnerability and courage.  And for this story to work, it needs a brave and charismatic anchor, and The Maestro has that in the beautiful, powerful and brilliant Tory Peil.  This artist, because that is what she is!  This artist physically embodies dance, and on top of her impeccable technique and stunning lines, this chick has the ability to sink so deeply into a character that you completely lose the dancer and just, quite literally feel the dance.   Without a doubt you will see and feel whatever she desires that you see and feel because she has your very soul in the palm of her hand, and with every flick of her gorgeous feet, every deep exhale of her powerful breath, and every nuance of her body, you will be pushed to your emotional limits.  And in this piece, she takes you on an emotional journey so raw, so real, vulgar at times and excruciatingly tender at others, that I guarantee you will not be the same person you were when you walked in to the Cornish Playhouse to see this show.  She brought tears to my eyes during a rehearsal and I had to fight to keep from ugly girl crying right there, and I fear that she is going to make me sob come opening night, and I eagerly anticipate the cleansing!

Ms. Peil is surrounded by the rest of the WWDC dancers, and the company all play a part in her journey, some driving her story, some affecting it, some torturing it, and others helping her through it.  But regardless of their role, each and every one of them provide a foundation by which Ms. Peil can fully let go, fully immerse herself into this story the Maestro has created on her, because her company fully has her supported and the trust between them all is simply beautiful to behold.  I’d love to go into details, but trust me, you don’t want me to spoil it.  You want to experience this brilliance and bravery for yourself.

I will be at Whim W’Him’s OUT-spoken to not only see The Maestro’s genius, but to also see the wonderful works I’ve no doubt are waiting for me from James Gregg and Annabelle Lopez Ochoa (who I hope to meet this time around, not only to see her amazing work because I’m a huge fan, but also to find out what it was like to work on Intensio, because Daniil Simkin is my spirit animal!)

This show is not one to be missed, so please, please, please join me for this performance!  Me and my darling +1 will be there on June 3rd, opening night, and I would very much like to experience it with all of you as well!!  Won’t you join us??!!?!!?!  Show time and ticket information can be found on Whim W’Him’s website, so please give yourself the gift of pure art, and join me in celebrating dance in Seattle!

I wish Mr. Gregg, Ms. Lopez Ochoa, the Maestro, the dancers, and the entire Whim W’Him

unnamed-30

Tory Peil and Patrick Kilbane

family a gigantic Merde!  I will be there cheering you on opening night, and look forward to the art that only you can create!

Ciao for now,

cropped-unnamed-16.jpg

All Photos by Bamberg Fine Art

Thoughts??

